Currently, Oregon uses a hands-free law which focuses on drivers texting and holding the phone to talk. Now the law has been fine tuned.
Earlier this year the Senate approved House Bill 2597 which states that any hands-on phone activity from the driver's seat in an automobile will be illegal starting October 1.
This means no cellphone, no navigation, no social media, etc. – to put it more simply, you cannot touch your cell phone in any way while driving.
Hands-free talking will be the only legal use by a driver. An officer will have the right to ticket based on if he/she saw a cell phone illuminate a driver's face. This also applies while stopped at an intersection. If you are seen touching your phone at any time while in the driver seat, fines are up to $1,000 for a first offense, $2,500 for a second and jail time for a third.
For those who rely a lot on their cell phones while driving for work, such as a wide load and a pilot car, drivers still need to use hands-free devices to communicate. Police officers and emergency workers, including anyone calling 911 are the only things exempt.
Time to check out Amazon for some cell phone mounts.
The bill was introduced after Oregon saw a sharp increase in driving deaths since 2013. Previous to 2013, the amount of driving deaths was declining.