Jenn Silvas |

Back to: News
February 10, 2014
Follow News

Make a life change by learning your love language | Moms

Change is always happening all around us. For some of us, it is easily accepted and for others, we despise the idea of the smallest amount of change.

But it is a term that comes about quite frequently in many ways.

We change the way we eat to better our health; we change the way we dress to either impress someone or make ourselves feel more important; sometimes we even change the appearance of our home just to get a new look by remodeling or replacing furniture sets.

These seem to be huge changes for us at the time, but they really are small changes in my opinion.

There is a huge change that needs to be made by most of us – one that most families including mine struggle with greatly. That is how we treat and love one another, and how we relate to each other in love.

My small group just finished a study on The Five Love Languages by Gary Chapman, and even though I am a little embarrassed to say that my husband and I did fall a bit behind in our reading a few times, we have taken so much away from this book.

At first as we started into this book and our discussions, I realized just how empty my love tank was, and with an empty tank it made it almost impossible for me to give love to anyone else in our house.

It seemed like I was just drained all of the time.

In comparison, it is quite like a car: if your car is out of gas then you are not going anywhere!

But as I began to learn my husband’s love language (his way of showing affection/love) and he learned my love language, things began to look a little bit different day-by-day.

The five love languages presented by Chapman are: Words of Affirmation, Acts of Service, Receiving Gifts, Quality time and Physical Touch.

I would argue that reading this book will change the way you look at love and affection. It could be the huge change that is greatly needed in your life.

My husband and I have already been applying so many techniques described in the book and they work.

If you can learn and understand how your spouse and your kids show and also receive love – then your family can actually start loving each other and keeping everyone’s love tanks full.

with an empty tank it made it almost impossible for me to give love...

Stories you may be interested in

The News-Review Updated May 21, 2014 04:23PM Published Feb 18, 2014 08:49AM Copyright 2014 The News-Review. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.