Login   |   Subscribe
The News-Review

Back to: News
May 20, 2014
Follow News

Voter turnout in Douglas County lags behind 2010 pace

About 30 percent of Douglas County voters had returned their ballots by this morning for the election that will end at 8 p.m. today.

County Clerk Patricia Hitt said the turnout was lagging about 5 percent behind the pace for the last primary in a non-presidential election year.

The office has received 18,601 ballots as of 9 a.m. today.

The clerk’s office mailed 60,083 ballots on May 2.

Hitt said the turnout to date is about 8 to 10 percent lower than it was at this point in the May primary for the 2012 presidential election year.

She said the office is hoping to receive quite a few ballots before 8 p.m.

“We are receiving a lot, all the drop boxes are full,” she said. “This morning they’ve all been full.”

Ballots can be dropped off at the Douglas County Courthouse, 1036 S.E. Douglas Ave., or at one of several secure drop boxes around the county.

Several contested races are on the ballot.

Seven men are racing to become the next county commissioner. They seek to succeed Commissioner Joe Laurance, who did not file for re-election.

Assessor candidate Roger Hartman has mounted a challenge to incumbent Susan Acree, who is seeking a four-year term.

In a third race for county office, Kris DeGroot of Glide and Carl Sweeden of Oakland are running to succeed county Surveyor Randy Smith, who announced he will retire at the end of his term.

In Sutherlin, voters will decide whether to annex the city into Douglas County Fire District No. 2. The city already contracts with the fire district for services, but the contract will expire next year.

Two Democrats and two Republicans are running for House District 2.

Two Republicans are running for House District 7. No Democrats filed for the position.

Ballots can be dropped off until 8 p.m. today at the following places:

Canyonville City Hall, 260 N. Main St.

Douglas County Annex, 680 Fir St., Reedsport

Douglas County Clerk’s Office, Room 124, Douglas County Courthouse, 1036 S.E. Douglas Ave., Roseburg

Douglas County Courthouse front lawn

Douglas County Library east parking lot, corner of Fowler Street and Diamond Lake Boulevard, Roseburg

Glendale City Hall, 124 Third St., 2 to 8 p.m.

Myrtle Creek City Hall, 207 N.W. Pleasant St.

Sutherlin City Hall, 126 E. Central Ave.

Winston City Hall, 201 N.W. Douglas Blvd.

Yoncalla City Hall, 2640 Eagle Valley Road

Stories you may be interested in

Trending in: News

The News-Review Updated May 20, 2014 02:05PM Published May 22, 2014 06:43AM Copyright 2014 The News-Review. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.