Betsy Swanback

Follow Me

Back to: News
November 6, 2012
Follow News

Roseburg's GOP lawmakers retain seats

Three Roseburg-area Republicans easily won re-election to the Legislature on Tuesday, but their party lost seats in the House and failed to pick up any in the Senate.

Reps. Bruce Hanna, R-Winchester, and Tim Freeman, R-Roseburg, and Sen. Jeff Kruse, R-Roseburg, defeated token opposition.

Hanna, however, will lose his position as co-speaker, a post he held for the past two sessions as the House was split 30-30 between Republicans and Democrats.

Based on vote counts as of late Tuesday, Democrats were in position to pick up four seats, The Associated Press reported.

Freeman said he wasn’t worried about being in the minority.

“My first term I served in the minority and built relationships and worked with legislators on both sides of the aisle,” he said.

In the Senate, Democrats and Republicans were battling to a standoff, with Democrats poised to hold onto their current 16-14 advantage.

Kruse said he was troubled by the prospect of Democratic majorities in the House and Senate.

“We had hoped to pick up at least one or two seats and get the majority in the Senate, which did not happen,” he said. “I’m disappointed from that perspective.”

Hanna won in a landslide in the 7th District over Dexter Democrat Fergus Mclean, receiving 70 percent of the vote.

Mclean said Tuesday he never expected to win, but was happy to be able to debate issues with Hanna, particularly home foreclosures.

“These people have been hung out to dry,” he said. “They’re gonna lose their homes. The state needs to step in.”

Kruse was elected in the 1st District for the third time, receiving 71 percent of the vote against Coquille Democrat Eldon Rollins. Kruse previously served four terms in the House.

Freeman didn’t have a Democratic opponent in the 2nd District, though Glendale Libertarian Jeff Adams was on the ballot. Freeman received 77 percent of the vote.

Elsewhere, Douglas County voters elected lawmakers in the 5th Senate District and 1st and 9th House Districts.

Coos Bay Democrat Arnie Roblan, who shared speaker duties with Hanna for the past two years, moved to the Senate by defeating Republican Scott Roberts, 56 percent to 44 percent.

Rep. Wayne Krieger, R-Gold Beach, received 68 percent of the vote to retain his 1st District seat. He defeated Brookings Democrat Jim Klahr 68 percent to 32 percent.

In the 9th House District, Coos Bay Democrat Caddy McKeown defeated North Bend Republican Nancy Brouhard for the seat previously held by Roblan. McKeown received 55 percent of the vote and Brouhard received 43 percent.

• You can reach reporter Betsy Swanback at 541-957-4208 or email at

Stories you may be interested in

The News-Review Updated Nov 10, 2012 02:09PM Published Nov 8, 2012 04:25PM Copyright 2012 The News-Review. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.