The News-Review

Prep Baseball/Softball: UVC's Forrester selected top player in 2A/1A

Umpqua Valley Christian was well-represented on the Class 2A/1A baseball all-state teams, with Jake Forrester receiving the top honor.

The senior pitcher/shortstop, who led the Monarchs to the state quarterfinals and a 21-8 season record, was selected the Player of the Year. Forrester was one of four first-team pitchers, along with junior Austin Crowson of state champion Monroe, junior Chase Rusinovich of Knappa and senior Dalton Susee of Kennedy.

Jeff Miller of Knappa was selected Coach of the Year.

Forrester — a Central Washington University signee — finished 10-2 on the mound with a 0.285 earned run average. The right-hander allowed just 19 hits, struck out 182 and walked 25 in 73 2/3 innings.

At the plate, the leadoff hitter finished with a .505 average. He scored 44 runs and knocked in 23.

Also making the first team from UVC were senior catcher Greg Suhrstedt and senior outfielder Ian Dahl.

Suhrstedt hit .443 with 34 RBIs, while Dahl hit .380 for the Big Fir League champions.

Selected to the third team were senior first baseman Jordan Mesa (.463, 40 runs, 29 RBIs) and junior infielder Cooper Tharp (.443, 36 RBIs).

Senior outfielder Josh Howell (.382) received honorable mention.

Other county players named to the second team were senior pitcher Tracey Doudna of North Douglas and junior designated hitter Marquece Williams of Reedsport. Making the third team were sophomore pitcher Griffin Kaufmann of Reedsport, senior outfielder Zack Whisler of North Douglas and junior outfielder Roy Benzel of Oakland.

Receiving honorable mention were senior outfielder Haden Sams of Reedsport, freshman infielder Jayce Ellis of North Douglas, junior infielder Dustin Tabor of Oakland and junior infielder Joe Keller of Yoncalla.

In Class 6A softball, Roseburg sophomore second baseman Baylee Wyscaver was selected to the third team. Junior catcher Jacey Conklin received honorable mention.

Senior Katie Donovan of state champion South Salem was selected Pitcher of the Year. Senior infielder Courtney Clayton of Glencoe was the Player of the Year and Scott McCormick of South Salem was Coach of the Year.

State runner-up North Medford had three first-team picks — senior pitcher Alexis Barkwell, senior infielder Jocilynn Ellis and junior outfielder Grace Jovanovic. Making the second team were junior pitcher Amy Robinson of Grants Pass and senior catcher Katie Ramsey of North Medford.

Stories you may be interested in

The News-Review Updated Jun 25, 2014 12:34PM Published Jun 25, 2014 12:34PM Copyright 2014 The News-Review. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.