The News-Review

Back to: SingleObituaries
January 2, 2013
Follow SingleObituaries

Prep Football: Roseburg players receive honorable mention

PORTLAND — Roseburg senior lineman Zach Wyscaver received honorable mention on offense and defense, and senior safety Jake Heverly received honorable mention on defense as the Class 6A football all-state teams were recently announced.

State finalists Sheldon and Lake Oswego dominated the all-state teams. Sheldon senior Connor Strahm, the son of Roseburg High graduate Kim (Manning) Strahm, was selected the Defensive Player of the Year and made the first-team on offense as a tight end. Senior running back Thomas Tyner of Aloha, who committed to the University of Oregon, was voted the Offensive Player of the Year.

Lane Johnson, who guided the Irish to the state title in his second season, was named the Coach of the Year. His quarterback, senior Taylor Alie, was among the first-team picks.

Class 4A

Douglas senior running back/defensive back Nate Vosika received honorable mention on both sides of the ball in the Class 4A football all-state voting.

Senior quarterback Braden Phillips of state champion Baker was selected the Offensive Player of the Year, while senior linebacker Trent Taylor of Baker was named the Defensive Player of the Year. David Johnson of Baker was Coach of the Year.

Class 3A

Glide senior Brandon Halter received honorable mention as a defensive back in the Class 3A football all-state voting.

Halter quarterbacked the Wildcats to the state playoffs.

Sharing the Offensive Player of the Year award were Brandon Williams of Cascade Christian and Forrest Garcia of Dayton. Dane Scott of Cascade Christian and Jered White were co-Defensive Players of the Year, while Brodie Unger of Dayton was Coach of the Year.

Stories you may be interested in

The News-Review Updated Jan 2, 2013 12:24PM Published Jan 2, 2013 12:24PM Copyright 2013 The News-Review. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.