Login   |   Subscribe
The News-Review

Prep Basketball: Spencer, Harper, Doudna on all-tournament first team

Oakland senior wing Brooke Spencer, who led her team to fourth place in the OSAA Class 2A girls basketball tournament over the weekend in Pendleton, was a unanimous selection on the all-tournament first team.

Spencer finished second in the tournament in scoring with 55 points, sinking seven 3-point field goals. She also shot 81 percent (22 of 27) from the line.

Junior Jeb Harper was an all-tournament first-team selection for the Oakland boys, who won the 2A state title with a 60-54 win over Irrigon Saturday night. Harper scored 39 points in three games, shooting 75 percent (12 of 16) from the field. Senior guard Colton Reber, who had 38 points and nine assists in the tournament, made the second team.

Elkton junior Tracey Doudna was an all-tournament first-team pick in the 1A boys tournament in Baker City. Doudna had 50 points and six steals in three games as the Elks finished fifth with a 1-2 record. Elkton senior guard Brandon Bowen, who scored 32 points in the tourney, made the second team.

Spencer named MVC Player of the Year

Oakland senior wing Brooke Spencer was named the Mountain View Conference Player of the Year in voting done by the coaches.

Spencer was joined on the all-conference first team by teammate Cora Gallop, Stevielee Jansen of Days Creek, Savannah Mast and Bella Mast of North Douglas and Sara Staats of Monroe.

Gallop was selected Defensive Player of the Year, while Jeff Davis of North Douglas was honored as the Coach of the Year.

On the boys’ side, Oakland seniors Connor Dolan, Colton Reber and Austin Collins were first-team selections along with Austin White and Trevor Armstrong of Oakridge and Kevin Smith of Days Creek. White was named the MVP and Jeff Clark of Oakland was the Coach of the Year.


Player of the Year — Brooke Spencer, sr., Oakland.

Defensive Player of the Year — Cora Gallop, soph., Oakland.

Coach of the Year — Jeff Davis, North Douglas.

First Team

Brooke Spencer, sr., Oakland; Stevielee Jansen, jr., Days Cree; Cora Gallop, soph., Oakland; Savannah Mast, jr., North Douglas; Bella Mast, soph., North Douglas; Sara Staats, sr., Monroe.

Second Team

Elizabeth McGuire, sr., Glendale; Dani Baker, fr., North Douglas; Isabel Golemon, jr., Days Creek; Kelcee Frieze, sr., North Douglas; Jazmyn Herrington, jr., Days Creek; Eryn McNeil, jr., Riddle; Savannah Swan, sr., Oakland.

Honorable Mention

Destiny Serda, jr., Riddle; Juniper McDonald, jr., Days Creek; Kim Davis, sr., North Douglas; Abby Dooley, jr., North Douglas; Kacie Warden, soph., Monroe; Lizeth Silva, sr., Glendale; Brayenna Williams, sr., Monroe; Kaitlyn Henry, sr., Glendale.

All-Defensive Team

Cora Gallop, soph., Oakland; Bella Mast, soph., North Douglas; Sara Staats, sr., Monroe; Jazmyn Herrington, jr., Days Creek; Destiny Serda, jr., Riddle; Ashley Walters, sr., Oakridge.


Player of the Year — Austin White, sr., Oakridge.

Coach of the Year — Jeff Clark, Oakland.

First Team

Austin White, sr., Oakridge; Connor Dolan, sr., Oakland; Colton Reber, sr., Oakland; Trevor Armstrong, sr., Oakridge; Austin Collins, sr., Oakland; Kevin Smith, jr., Days Creek.

Second Team

Jase Fuller, jr., Days Creek; Seath Brown, soph., Riddle; Jeb Harper, jr., Oakland; Dakota Younger, sr., Monroe; Isaac Tully, sr., Monroe; Gerry Snyder, soph., Oakridge.

Honorable Mention

Austin Nix, jr., Oakland; Roy Benzel, soph., Oakland; Carter Ellis, jr., Days Creek; Kolby Orrison, jr., Days Creek; Justin Moe, soph., Oakridge; Tristin Ivie, sr., Oakridge; Erik Rogers, sr., Riddle; Alex Derrick, jr., North Douglas; Antonio Loghry, fr., Glendale.

All-Defensive Team

Kevin Smith, jr., Days Creek; Austin Collins, sr., Oakland; Tristin Ivie, sr., Oakridge; Isaac Tully, sr., Monroe; Brock Daubney, sr., Riddle.

Stories you may be interested in

Trending Sitewide

The News-Review Updated Mar 5, 2013 12:40PM Published Mar 5, 2013 12:40PM Copyright 2013 The News-Review. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.