Glide junior Johanna Pope was a first-team selection in the recent Mountain Valley Conference volleyball all-league voting done by the coaches.

Receiving honorable mention for the Wildcats were seniors Madison Malek and Whitney Stone. Senior Cassie Cunningham of Creswell was named player of the year.

Player of the Year — Cassie Cunningham, sr., Creswell.

Coach of the Year — Suzanne Gram, Coquille.

First Team — Cassie Cunningham, sr., Creswell; McKenna Wilson, sr., Coquille; Rhiannon McKinley, sr., Coquille; Bailey Howell, jr., Creswell; Duran Jelden, jr., Harrisburg; Johanna Pope, jr., Glide.

Second Team — Karley Bellew, sr., Creswell; Jami Goin, jr., Coquille; Alexis Thomas, sr., Harrisburg; Jordynn Slater, sr., La Pine; Victoria Lewis, jr., Pleasant Hill; Gracie Sinclair, jr., Coquille.

Honorable Mention — Madison Malek, sr., Glide; Aubrey Born, sr., Harrisburg; Abbey Dieu, jr., Coquille; Josey Hawkins, jr., La Pine; Kaylee Martin, soph., Pleasant Hill; Whitney Stone, sr., Glide; Kaylee Cunningham, sr., Creswell.


Glide juniors Gabe Bunnell and Simon Hooper each received honorable mention in the Special District 3 boys soccer all-league voting.

Senior Sam Schuetz of Pleasant Hill was named player of the year.

Player of the Year — Sam Schuetz, sr., Pleasant Hill.

Coach of the Year — Colin Hay, Pleasant Hill.

First Team — Sam Schuetz, sr., Pleasant Hill; Ike Sugatani, sr., Pleasant Hill; Eric Gibbs, sr., Pleasant Hill; Kyler Goelzer, jr., Santiam Christian; Ryan Hall, sr., Santiam Christian; Josh Verdeyen, soph., Santiam Christian; Connor Peckfelder, sr., East Linn Christian; Connor Moore, sr., East Linn Christian; Kody Jones, jr., East Linn Christian; Tristen Ward, sr., Creswell. Goalkeeper: Torrey Gage-Tomlinson, sr., Pleasant Hill.

Second Team — Jordan Lyda, sr., Pleasant Hill; Patrick Otis, jr., Santiam Christian; Sam Kim, soph., Santiam Christian; Chase Groome, soph., Santiam Christian; Maddi Christenson, sr., East Linn Christian; Matt Reardon, jr., East Linn Christian; Eddie Hernandez, sr., Creswell; Avel Fetter, jr., Creswell; Jeremy Smith, sr., La Pine; Morrie Desatoff, sr., La Pine. Goalkeeper: Winn Miller, jr., Santiam Christian.

Glide Honorable Mention — Gabe Bunnell, jr.; Simon Hooper, jr.

Sports Editor Tom Eggers can be reached at 541-957-4220 or email

React to this story:


Sports Editor

Tom Eggers is the sports editor for The News-Review. He can be reached at 541-957-4220 or by email at

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.