Yoncalla senior Dominic Aguilar and Camas Valley seniors Bryson Wolfe and Bridger Godfrey were named to the Class 1A all-state second team in a vote by the state’s coaches.

Aguilar was chosen as a utility player on offense. A four-year starter in high school — two at North Douglas and his final two at Yoncalla — Aguilar split time his senior year between quarterback, running back and wide receiver.

Wolfe and Godfrey were both selected on the defensive side of the ball, Godfrey at defensive end and Wolfe at defensive back. The seniors helped lead Camas Valley to the state quarterfinals for the second straight year. They were also named named honorable mention on offense at quarterback (Wolfe) and offensive line (Godfrey).

State champion Dufur had eight first-team selections, including player of the year Asa Farrell. Rangers coach Jack Henderson was the coach of the year after leading DHS to its fourth straight state title.

North Douglas senior Caleb Parks received honorable mention selection at both running back and linebacker, while teammate Justin Smith received accolades at defensive end.

Elkton senior Mark Russell received honorable mention team at defensive end.


Player of the Year — Asa Farrell, jr., Dufur.

Coach of the Year — Jack Henderson, Dufur.


First Team — Quarterback: Derek Frakes, sr., Dufur. Running Backs: Asa Farrell, jr., Dufur; Justin Herberger, sr., St. Paul. Receivers/End: Abraham Kilby, sr., Dufur; Jaidyn Jackson, sr., St. Paul. Guards: Zach Brentano, sr., St. Paul; Aidan Kirsch, sr., St. Paul. Center: Russell Peters, sr., Dufur. Utility: Mitch Curtis, sr., St. Paul.

Second Team — Quarterback: TJ Crawford, jr., St. Paul. Running Backs: Chase Joyce, jr., Crane; Austin Brockamp, sr., Wallowa. Receivers/End: Will Maupin, jr., Hosanna Christian; Austin Burgess, sr., Falls City; Zeke Quintero, sr., Jordan Valley. Guards: Blake Frost, sr., Imbler; Kaleb Pence, fr., Dufur. Center: Nick Morris, sr., Hosanna Christian. Utility: Dominic Aguilar, sr., Yoncalla.

Honorable Mention — Quarterback: Bryson Wolfe, sr., Camas Valley. Running Backs: Saul Martinez, jr., St. Paul; Caleb Parks, sr., North Douglas. Receivers/Ends: Brian Lemon, jr., Lowell; Ian Smith, sr., Elgin. Guards: Wes Bayes, jr., Adrian; Bridger Godfrey, sr., Camas Valley. Center: Gage Scheet, sr., Falls City.


First Team — Ends: Abraham Kilby, jr., Dufur; Alex DelaCerda, jr., St. Paul. Defensive Line: Aidan Kirsch, sr., St. Paul; Russell Peters, sr., Dufur. Linebackers: Justin Herberger, sr., St. Paul; Asa Farrell, jr., Dufur; Austin Burgess, sr., Falls City. Backs: Tanner Masterson, sr., Dufur; Mitch Curtis, sr., St. Paul. Utility: Eric Diaz, sr., St. Paul.

Second Team — Ends: Saul Martinez, jr., St. Paul; Wyatt Prince, Wallowa; Bridger Godfrey, sr., Camas Valley. Line: Joe Robb, sr., Wallowa; Nick Morris, sr., Hosanna Christian. Linebackers: Zack Brentano, sr., St. Paul; Jacob Dunn, sr., Crane; Zeb Ramsden, soph., Wallowa. Backs: Cole Kortge, sr., Dufur; Bryson Wolfe, sr., Camas Valley.

Honorable Mention — Ends: Kaleb Pence, fr., Dufur; Justin Smith, sr., North Douglas. Line: Chris Hanson, sr., Elgin; Mark Russell, sr., Elkton. Linebackers: Caleb Parks, sr., North Douglas; Chase Joyce, jr., Crane; JJ Neece, soph., Mapleton. Backs: Gus Ramsden, sr., Wallowa; Austin Brockamp, sr., Wallowa.

React to this story:


Sports Reporter

Aaron Yost is a sports reporter for The News-Review he can be reached at 541-957-4219 or by email at ayost@nrtoday.com. Follow him on Twitter @aaron_yost.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.