Glide High School senior Dillon Towne was selected to the Class 2A football all-state first team on both sides of the ball in voting done by the coaches.

Towne made the first-team offense as a wide receiver and was one of four linemen on the first-team defense.

Glide senior Cayden Kangiser was selected to the second-team offense as a lineman and Oakland junior Wil Powell made the second-team defense at linebacker.

Third-team selections included Glide senior Zach Holland at running back, Reedsport junior Dallas McGill at tight end, Glide senior Bridger Cox at defensive back and Glide senior Wyatt Estrada at linebacker.

Junior running back Emorej Lynk of state champion Kennedy was tabbed the offensive player of the year and senior linebacker Dustin Keys of Santiam was defensive player of the year.

Joe Panuke of Kennedy was selected as the conference’s coach of the year.

Class 2A All-State Football

Offensive Player of the Year — Emorej Lynk, jr., Kennedy.

Offensive Lineman of the Year — Cristian Garcia, sr., Monroe.

Defensive Player of the Year — Dustin Keys, sr., Santiam.

Defensive Lineman of the Year — Nick Suing, sr., Kennedy.

Coach of the Year — Joe Panuke, Kennedy.


First Team

Quarterback — Eli Takalo, jr., Knappa. Running Backs — Emorej Lynk, jr., Kennedy; Zach Young, jr., Monroe; Trevor Kinney, sr., Santiam. Wide Receivers — Jace Brazeal, sr., Lakeview; Rocco Carley, sr., Kennedy; Kanai Phillip, jr., Knappa; Dillon Towne, sr., Glide. Tight End — Jayden Eriksen, sr., Jefferson. Linemen — Nick Suing, sr., Kennedy; Cristian Garcia, sr., Monroe; Dustin Keys, sr., Santiam; Drew Lusco, jr., Grant Union; Garrett Wallen, sr., Santiam. Kicker — Bryan Ayala, sr., Lost River.


First Team

Backs — Jesse Sendlinger, sr., Santiam; Bruce Beyer, jr., Kennedy; Zach Morey, sr., Regis; Jacob DeBoff, sr., Sheridan. Linebackers — Dustin Keys, sr., Santiam; Caiden Yates, jr., Coquille; Tristan Bennett, sr., Neah-Kah-Nie. Linemen — Nick Suing, sr., Kennedy; Cristian Garcia, sr., Monroe; Dillon Towne, sr., Glide; Garrett Wallen, sr., Santiam. Punter — Zach Young, jr., Monroe.

Sports Editor Tom Eggers can be reached at 541-957-4220 or email

React to this story:


Sports Editor

Tom Eggers is the sports editor for The News-Review. He can be reached at or 541-957-4220.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.