191019-spt-scsutherlinfb-04 (copy)

Senior wide receiver Mason Gill was among the first-team selections for Sutherlin in the Special District 2 North football all-league voting.

Sutherlin placed seven players on the Class 3A Special District 2 North football all-league first team in voting done by the coaches.

Senior center Dayden Jacobs was selected the offensive lineman of the year. Also making the first-team offense were senior running back Jake Merrifield, senior wide receiver Mason Gill and senior lineman Hunter Strong.

Bulldogs named to the first-team defense included senior linebacker Case Wells, senior lineman Byron Baker and senior back Brandon Carr.

Making the second team were junior running back Josh Davis, Wells at tight end and returner, Baker at offensive lineman, senior placekicker Reinaldo Alcantar, sophomore linebacker Adan Diaz and Strong at defensive lineman.

Junior running back Marcus Fullbright of Santiam Christian was named the offensive back of the year.



Offensive Back of the Year — Marcus Fullbright, jr., Santiam Christian.

Co-Defensive Back of the Year — Luke Melschau, sr., Santiam Christian; Gabe Knox, sr., Harrisburg.

Offensive Lineman of the Year — Dayden Jacobs, sr., Sutherlin.

Defensive Lineman of the Year — Wyatt Perry, sr., Harrisburg.

Coach of the Year — Matt Bain, Santiam Christian.


First Team — Quarterback: Ely Kennel, soph., Santiam Christian. Running Backs: Marcus Fullbright, jr., Santiam Christian; Cody Morrell, sr., Pleasant Hill; Jake Merrifield, sr., Sutherlin. Wide Receivers: Trevor Oxenrider, sr., Santiam Christian; Braydon Thornton, soph., Siuslaw; Mason Gill, sr., Sutherlin; Hayden Harris, sr., Pleasant Hill. Tight End: Joe MaQuatish, jr., Santiam Christian. Line: Hunter Strong, sr., Sutherlin; Henry Rankin, soph., Siuslaw; Deegan Black, sr., Santiam Christian; Bryan Payne, sr., Pleasant Hill. Center: Dayden Jacobs, sr., Sutherlin. Kicker: Luke Melschau, sr., Santiam Christian. Returners: Cody Morrell, sr., Pleasant Hill; Marcus Fullbright, jr., Santiam Christian.

Second Team — Quarterback: Elijah Blankenship, jr., Siuslaw. Running Backs: Gabe Knox, sr., Harrisburg; Camp Lacouture, soph., Siuslaw; Josh Davis, jr., Sutherlin. Wide Receivers: Levi Villars, jr., Santiam Christian; Jayden Casarez, jr., Pleasant Hill. Tight Ends: Case Wells, sr., Sutherlin; Wyatt Perry, sr., Harrisburg. Line: Stephen Machin, soph., La Pine; Bryon Baker, sr., Sutherlin; Konner Boshart, jr., Santiam Christian. Centers: Justin Warden, sr., Pleasant Hill; Rylan Kutsch, jr., Santiam Christian. Kicker: Reinaldo Alcantar, sr., Sutherlin. Returner: Case Wells, sr., Sutherlin.

Honorable Mention — Quarterbacks: Tehgan Pacini, jr., Sutherlin; Chase Gallegos, jr., Harrisburg. Running Back: Johnathan Lettkeman, sr., Harrisburg. Center: Daniel Mohr, sr., Harrisburg. Kicker: Martin Dachauer, sr., La Pine.


First Team — Linebackers: Gabe Knox, sr., Harrisburg; Luke Melschau, sr., Santiam Christian; Case Wells, sr., Sutherlin; Camp Lacouture, soph., Siuslaw. Line: Byron Baker, sr., Sutherlin; Wyatt Perry, sr., Harrisburg; Jaydan Gray, sr., Pleasant Hill; Miles Henderson, sr., Santiam Christian. Backs: Devin Primsingh, sr., Santiam Christian; Brady Libby, jr., Siuslaw; Hudson Carter, jr., Santiam Christian; Garrett Pierce, sr., Pleasant Hill; Brandon Carr, sr., Sutherlin. Punter: Luke Melschau, sr., Santiam Christian.

Second Team — Linebackers: Skylar Peters, soph., Pleasant Hill; Adan Diaz, soph., Sutherlin; Garrett Cowan, jr., Santiam Christian; Syrus Smith, jr., La Pine. Line: Isaac Bright, jr., La Pine; Teagan DeForest, soph., La Pine; Hunter Strong, sr., Sutherlin; Levi Janssen, jr., Santiam Christian. Backs: Oscar Steffens, sr., La Pine; Jayden Casarez, jr., Pleasant Hill; Chase Gallegos, jr., Harrisburg. Punter: Dylan Westbrook, sr., La Pine.

Honorable Mention — Linebackers: Colby Olsen, jr., Sutherlin; Heston Bain, soph., Santiam Christian; Charles Conrad, soph., Pleasant Hill; Logan Beam, jr., Santiam Christian; Adam Plant, sr., La Pine. Back: Isaac Garza, soph., Siuslaw. Punters: Joan Tapia, sr., Harrisburg; Ryan Wright, sr., Pleasant Hill; Dylan Smalley, jr., Sutherlin.

Tom Eggers can be reached at teggers@nrtoday.com or 541-957-4220.

React to this story:


Sports Editor

Tom Eggers is the sports editor for The News-Review. He can be reached at teggers@nrtoday.com or 541-957-4220.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.