Two Oakland players and one Glide player were among those recognized in the Class 2A girls basketball all-state voting conducted by the Oregon Athletic Coaches Association.

Oakland senior guard Hadley Brooksby was a first-team selection and senior wing Grace Witten made the third team. Glide senior post Johanna Pope received honorable mention.

Coquille junior Morgan Baird was selected the player of the year. Robert Wilson of Heppner was coach of the year.

Class 2A Girls Basketball

All-State Teams

First Team — Morgan Baird, jr., Coquille; Sydney Wilson, soph., Heppner; Hadley Brooksby, sr., Oakland; Sophia Carley, jr., Kennedy; Hallie Wright, sr., Grant Union; Kaylee Wright, sr., Grant Union; Kalyssa Kleinschmit, sr., Kennedy.

Second Team — Abbey Dieu, sr., Coquille; Kyndal Martin, sr., Monroe; Jacee Currin, sr., Heppner; Halle Layton, sr., Coquille; Colleen McLaughlin, sr., Central Linn; Makenzie Girtman, sr., Lost River.

Third Team — Jaela McKinney, sr., Portland Christian; Angela Taylor, jr., Lost River; Irma Retano, sr., Culver; Tana’ya Barnhart, jr., Toledo; Grace Witten, sr., Oakland; Jessica Neal, sr., Central Linn.

County Honorable Mention — Johanna Pope, sr., Glide.

Tom Eggers can be reached at or 541-957-4220.

React to this story:


Sports Editor

Tom Eggers is the sports editor for The News-Review. He can be reached at or 541-957-4220.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.