Roseburg’s Samantha Eichman reaches for a shot during the Southwest Conference district tournament Saturday at Umpqua Valley Tennis Center.

Roseburg singles players Mackenzie Eichman and Samantha Eichman were both seeded for the OSAA Class 6A girls tennis championships this weeked at Babette Horenstein Tennis Center in Beaverton.

“We got really good draws,” RHS girls tennis coach Jeremy Root said. “They’ll do just fine.”

Freshman Mackenzie Eichman is the No. 6 seed and has a bye in the first round Thursday, but will play the winner of the Abby Fedor of South Salem vs. Eryn Flabane of Wilson match in the second round later that same day.

The No. 8 seed went to sophomore Samantha Eichman, who will play the winner of the match between Roosevelt’s Rosaria Quim-Valdez and Clackamas’ Elise Kang in round two.

This will be the second time Samantha Eichman makes a state appearance. Last year she fell to the No. 6 seed in the second round.

Southwest Conference district title champ Lauren Kreutzer of Sheldon received the No. 4 seed in the girls singles bracket. The No. 1 seed went to Lizzy Stevens, a sophomore at Tigard.

SWC doubles champs Adrienne Powell and Jayda Pieske of Roseburg received the No. 5 seed for state. They will play in round two against the winner of the match between McMinnville’s Avari Ridgway and Amy Gilliat and Canby’s Diana Krischenko and Hanna Myers.

Powell and Pieske were the only Roseburg doubles team to get seeded at the state tournament.

After Saturday’s SWC win, Pieske said her goal is to go on and win the state title.

“I think it’s going to be tough,” Root said. “But it’s the right attitude and you never know what’s going to happen.”

Powell played singles last season and fell to the No. 1 seed in the second round of the state tournament.

Roseburg’s Steffi Early and Alexandra Sandfort will play Paige Nelson and Gabby Mon Belle of Grant in the first round. The Roseburg duo played at the state tournament last year and dropped the match in round 2 to the No. 6 seed.

Clackamas’ Olivia Morris and Meling Masterford will meet Roseburg’s Lauren Sandfort and Bailey Norlin-Pritchard in the first round.

The No. 1 seed was awarded to Lake Oswego seniors Melisha Dogra and Anna Lowry.

Quarterfinals and semifinals will take place Friday, and finals will be played Saturday.


Roseburg’s Isaac Beery and Michael Bober received the No. 6 seed for the state tournament. The doubles team will have a bye in the first round Thursday and will play the winner of Lincoln’s Michael McPhee and Regen Li and McMinnville’s Reece Parr and Nick Howard in the second round later that same day.

Beery, a senior, and Bober, a junior, played in the tournament last year, and made it to the consolation semifinals.

The top-seeded boys doubles team is Tommy Kallgren and Jaden D’Abreo of Jesuit.

Roseburg’s Ethan Smith will play Central Catholic freshman Lucas Forretta in the first round Thursday. The winner of the match will face the No. 6 seed Jack Ninteman of Lakeridge the same day.

Jesuit’s Peter Murphy was named the No. 1 seed. Southwest Conference district winner Peter Shen of South Eugene is the No. 5 seed.

Smith played in the doubles bracket last year with then-senior Lucas Ball. The two fell to the eventual state champions, Jesuit’s Edward Murphy and Michael Quinn, in the semifinals.

Quarterfinals and semifinals will take place Friday, and finals will be played Saturday.

React to this story:


Sports Reporter

Sanne Godfrey is a sports reporter for The News-Review.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.