ND seniors

North Douglas seniors Arianna Helgren and Abby Whipple.

North Douglas seniors Arianna Helgren and Abby Whipple, two of the more decorated volleyball players in school history, were selected to the Class 1A all-state first team in voting by the coaches.

Helgren, a 5-foot-10 outside hitter/setter, was a first-team selection for the second straight season. Whipple, a 5-7 outside hitter/setter, was a third-team pick in 2017.

The pair shared the Skyline League’s player of the year award.

The Warriors won the Skyline North regular season title and finished fifth at the state tournament under Anne Campbell, losing to Hosanna Christian in four sets in the third-place match. North Douglas went 27-8 overall.

Helgren compiled 355 kills on the season. She also had 381 digs, 290 assists, 48 aces and 20 blocks and finished with a 94 percent serving average.

Whipple, Campbell’s niece, had 264 kills with 592 assists, 366 digs, 124 aces, 20 blocks and a 95 percent serving average.

“I’m so proud of the way they (Helgren and Whipple) played and carried themselves throughout the season, and I’m thrilled for them that they received this honor,” Campbell said. “I see them play volleyball every day, so I know what they’re capable of and it’s nice for that recognition to come from other coaches in the state.”

State champion St. Paul had two first-team selections in junior Isabelle Wyss and senior Emma Connor. Wyss was named the player of the year.

Also making the first team were senior Megan Bingham and sophomore Brooke Allen of Powder Valley, and senior Meredith Bush of Hosanna Christian.

Days Creek junior outside hitter Joleen Crume made the second team and junior outside hitter Moriah Michaels received honorable mention.

Crume led D.C. with 331 kills, followed by Michaels with 259. Michaels was first in digs (252) and Crume (235) was second.

The Wolves went 21-10 overall, dropping two matches at the state tournament.


Player of the Year — Isabelle Wyss, jr., St. Paul.

Coach of the Year — Marji Lind, Powder Valley.

First Team — Isabelle Wyss, jr., St. Paul; Megan Bingham, sr., Powder Valley; Meredith Bush, sr., Hosanna Christian; Emma Connor, sr., St. Paul; Brooke Allen, soph., Powder Valley; Arianna Helgren, sr., North Douglas; Abby Whipple, sr., North Douglas.

Second Team — Erin Counts, jr., St. Paul; Emma Hite, sr., Joseph; Katie Sandberg, sr., Country Christian; Joleen Crume, jr., Days Creek; Abby Bartell, sr., Crosshill Christian; Hannah Ledgerwood, soph., Hosanna Christian; Regann Skinner, sr.. Jordan Valley.

Third Team — Alyssa Lux, sr., Perrydale; Miriam Levesque, sr., Hosanna Christian; Ellie Schanz, sr., Crosshill Christian; Savannah Hale, soph., Damascus Christian; Lexie Cox, sr., Echo; Jade Hayes, sr., McKenzie; Abbie Lowther, sr., Alsea.

County Honorable Mention — Moriah Michaels, jr., Days Creek.

Sports Editor Tom Eggers can be reached at 541-957-4220 or email teggers@nrtoday.com.

React to this story:


Sports Editor

Tom Eggers is the sports editor for The News-Review. He can be reached at teggers@nrtoday.com or 541-957-4220.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.