SUTHERLIN — Sutherlin’s Bryce Olsen pinned Siuslaw’s Elijah LaCosse in 1:42 to win the 132-pound bracket at the Sutherlin Wrestling Classic on Saturday.

Olsen was one of three Sutherlin wrestlers to win their division and lead the Bulldogs to a second place finish, behind Dayton, in the 16-team competition.

Mathew Carrillo (106) won his weight class after pinning Carter Lathrop of North Valley and winning a 12-4 decision over Sutherlin’s Tanner Stone. Stone finished second in the weight class.

Sutherlin’s other winner was Aysiah Candelaria, who won the girls varsity 117-123 division with three consecutive pins.

“It’s exciting,” Candelaria said. “I have more supporters here, my family and my friends.”

Glide, Douglas, Oakland and South Umpqua all competed in the tournament.

The Glide Wildcats saw wins from varsity wrestler Zach Holland (170) and novices Brenden Jarvien (143-144) and Corbyn Kangiser (144-146).

Holland won by fall over Nigel Engle of Dayton in two minutes in the first place match. Jarvien and Kangiser each won with three consecutive falls.

Zach Vigil (285) finished fourth after a technical fall to Dayton’s Blake Larsen in the semifinal dropped him into the third place match, which he lost by tie breaker to Matthew Horrillo of Siuslaw.

Prior to the semifinal Vigil said he was looking forward to wrestling Larsen. “I’m not looking for 10-second pins,” he said. “It’s more fun to go three rounds with someone.”

Andrew Dubie was the lone Douglas wrestler to get a win. Dubie won the novice 190-204 round robin bracket with three pins.

Douglas’ boys varsity wrestlers Clayton Hatcher (113), Kadin Baker (182), Jesse Brecht (195), and girls wrestlers Elexis Walker (125-128) and Zoey Smalley (150-170) finished second in their respective divisions.

“There’s only one girl that’ll be a challenge,” Walker said of her competition at the tournament. That girl was Emma Truex of Phoenix, who pinned Walker in 25 seconds. Walker won her two other matches.

Brecht defeated Cottage Grove’s Austin Dempsey on a 17-1 technical fall in the quarterfinal.

“I probably could’ve wrestled better,” the 195-pounder said immediately following that match. “There are a few guys here that have beat me before so I’m a little nervous going up against them, but that’s not going to deter me from doing my best.”

Brecht won a 5-3 decision over Sutherlin’s Zachary Lepre in the semifinal, but fell in 5:21 to Dayton’s Legin Engle in the first place match.

Oakland novice Jayden Henry (166-179) was able to get a first place finish for his team; he won one match by decision and two by fall.

Lelan Good (113), Austin Vanhouten (160) and William Powell (182) all wrestled for Oakland’s varsity team.

South Umpqua’s only placer was Dale Wells in the 120-pound bracket. Wells was sixth after falling to Pleasant Hill’s Jackson O’Connor.

TEAM SCORES — 1. Dayton, 150; 2. Sutherlin, 124; 3. Elmira, 121; 4. Glide, 118.5; 5. Pleasant Hill, 116; 6. Douglas, 92.5; 7. Cottage Grove, 90.5; 8. Siuslaw, 79.5; 9. North Bend, 51.5; 10. Creswell, 43; 11. Coquille, 25.5; 12. Phoenix, 24; 13. Oakland, 22; 14. South Eugene, 17; 15. South Umpqua, 14; 16. North Valley, 12.


(First place match or Top 2)


106 — 1. Mathew Carrillo, Suth; 2. Tanner Stone, Suth. 113 — 1. Ryan Penrose, Day; 2. Clayton Hatcher, Doug. 120 — Ethan Litson, PH, p. Francisco Metteer, Cres, 2:44. 126 — Logan Lowrey, CG, p. Braxton Dill, G, :17. 132 — Bryce Olsen, Suth, p. Elijah LaCosse, Siu, 1:42. 138 — Jacob Pray, PH, maj. dec. Gabe Syverson, G, 8-0. 145 — Travis Sherman, Day, tech. fall Charles Conrad, PH, 23-8. 152 — Titus Rice, PH, p. Jacob Dunn, CG, 2:17. 160 — Asher Ruchti, PH, dec. Brayden Clayburn, Coq, 11-7. 170 — Zach Holland, G, p. Nigel Engle, Day, 2:00. 182 — Nat Brown, Elm, dec. Kadin Baker, Doug, 6-3. 195 — Legin Engle, Day, p. Jesse Brecht, Doug, 5:21. 220 — Mikey Montgomery, Elm, p. Trent Olsen, Suth, 3:56. 285 — Blake Larsen, Day, p. Zack Welker, G, 3:30.


93-99 — 1. Elva Zhao, Elm; 2. Julian Kergaard, Cres. 101-110 — 1. Sabrina James, CG; 2. Libery Barklow, Elm. 117-123 — 1. Aysiah Candelaria, Suth; 2. Bailey Overton, Siu. 125-128 — 1. Emma Truex, Phx; 2. Elexis Walker, Doug. 130-133 — 1. Jaesa Rechti, PH; 2. Adriana Edwards, Siu. 133-134 — 1. Brielle Brick, Cres; 2. Tessa Osterberg, NV. 142-147 — 1. Adelle Kent, CG; 2. Destiny Ruppert, Elm. 150-170 — 1. Anna McDougal, Elm; 2. Zoey Smalley, Doug. 215-222 — 1. Raina Herzog, CG; 2. Leila Kennedy-Miles, CG.


109-119 — 1. Juan Bautista, Cres; 2. Jack Mornarich, G. 120-130 —1. Tony Florez, Coq; 2. Ethan Yarbrough, Suth. 125-134 — 1. Koby Warren, Elm; 2. Josiah Lee, Cres. 130-135 — 1. Etienne Fohrimann, SE; 2. Joseph Guzzardi, NB. 137-143 — 1. Damian Kasper, NV; 2. Grayson Colebut, Suth. 143-144 — 1. Brenden Jarvien, G; 2. Easton West, Oak. 144-146 — 1. Corbyn Kangiser, G; 2. Tristan Stinson, NB. 145-150 — 1. Antwan Ho, Siu; 2. Patrick Calhoun, Phx. 145-157 — 1. Levi Boitz, CG; 2. Jake Siewell, NB. 151-160 — 1. Luke Johns, CG; 2. Wyatt Brink, Suth. 162-168 — 1. Elijah Myers, NV; 2. Jesus Saldivar, NB. 166-179 — 1. Jayden Henry, Oak; 2. Kaleb Hoffman, NB. 180-192 — 1. Gabe Pollin, NB, p. Javier Fregoso, Cres, :54. 190-204 — 1. Andrew Dubie, Doug; 2. Charles Richardson, SE. 212-218 — 1. Gavin Cantamessa, PH; 2. Stephen Hoobler, Suth.

Sports reporter Sanne Godfrey can be reached at 541-957-4203 or via email at Follow her on Twitter


React to this story:


Sports Reporter

Sanne Godfrey is a sports reporter for The News-Review.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.