Logan McGrew, Evelynne Villanueva and Isabel Webber were the recipients of the 2019-2020 Casey Diemert Memorial Scholarship Award.

The scholarship, which was established in 2002, is designed to assist Roseburg High School graduates.

McGrew will study nursing at Umpqua Community College, Villanueva plans to study biology at UCC and Webber will attend Northwest Christian University to study biochemistry.

The scholarship was started in memory of sprint car driver Casey Robert Diemert, who passed away from injuries sustained during a race in 1999. Diemert was a Roseburg high grad with a Bachelor of Science degree in environmental health and safety from Oregon State University.

Sanne Godfrey can be reached at sgodfrey@nrtoday.com or 541-957-4203. Follow her on Twitter @sannegodfrey.

React to this story:


Education Reporter

Sanne Godfrey is the education reporter for The News-Review.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.