Brad Seehawer drops off his ballot in front of Douglas County Courthouse in 2016.

The ballots for the May 21 Special District Election are in the mail and Douglas County voters were expected to begin receiving them as soon as Friday.

Douglas County Clerk Patricia Hitt said 80,037 ballots were mailed to county voters. Among the recipients are 29,743 Republicans, 17,287 Democrats, 4008 to registered members of the Independent party and 28,187 who are unaffiliated or members of minor parties.

Elections officials took the ballots to Springfield Thursday to be mailed from there, because it’s faster and cheaper than paying to deposit them at the Roseburg Post Office, which would send them to Lane County for sorting anyway before they were mailed to voters, Hitt said.

The election will determine who sits on a number of school, fire and other local boards. Also at stake are construction bonds in the Elkton and Winston-Dillard school districts, and a measure to reduce the size of the Reedsport School District board, as well as a Reedsport charter amendment.

Registered voters who have not received their ballots by May 9 should contact the Douglas County Election Office.

Signed and completed ballots can be placed in the mail or in one of the drop boxes located around the county.

Ballots must be received no later than 8 p.m. on May 21, not postmarked by that date. Signing the return envelope is mandatory for ballots to be counted, as signatures must be verified.

Ballot boxes are available at the following locations: Canyonville City Hall, 250 N. Main St.; Douglas County Annex, 680 Fir St., Reedsport; Douglas County Clerk’s Office, Room 124, and courthouse lawn, 1036 SE Douglas Ave., Roseburg; Drain City Hall, 129 West C Ave.; Roseburg Public Library East Parking Lot, corner of Fowler Street and Diamond Lake Boulevard; Glendale City Hall, 124 Third St.; Myrtle Creek City Hall, 207 NW Pleasant; Riddle City Hall, 647 1st Ave.; Sutherlin City Hall, 126 E. Central Ave.; Umpqua Community College Library, 1140 Umpqua College Road; Winston City Hall, 201 NW Douglas Blvd.; and Yoncalla City Hall, 2640 Eagle Valley Road.

Reporter Carisa Cegavske can be reached at ccegavske@nrtoday.com or 541-957-4213.

React to this story:


Senior Reporter

Carisa Cegavske is the senior reporter for The News-Review. She can be reached at ccegavske@nrtoday.com or 541-957-4213. Follow her on Twitter @carisa_cegavske

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.