Time is running out to register to vote in the November election. The deadline is 11:59 p.m. Tuesday.

Registration is available until then online at the Oregon secretary of state’s website, sos.oregon.gov/voting/Pages/registration.aspx?lang=en.

The link can be used to check registration status or to switch parties.

To register, you must be an Oregon resident, a U.S. citizen and at least 16 years old. You have to be 18 before you can vote. You’ll need a driver’s license, permit or ID card number from the Oregon Driver and Motor Vehicle Services Division. If you don’t have one, you’ll need to visit the Douglas County Elections Office and provide them with other identifying information such as the last four digits of your social security number or a recent utility bill to complete your registration. The elections office is in Room 124 of the Douglas County Courthouse, 1036 SE Douglas Ave., in Roseburg. It’s open Monday and Tuesday from 8 a.m. to noon and 1 to 4 p.m.

Douglas County voters will have the chance to weigh in during this election on candidates for city, county, state and federal offices. There are contested races for city council positions in cities across the county. Eight candidates will appear on every county voter’s ballot for a Douglas County commissioner seat, though one, Daniel Loomis, has dropped out of the race.

Voters will also select state representatives and senators. In Roseburg and most of South County, voters will decide whether to keep interim Republicans Sen. Dallas Heard, R-Winston, and Rep. Gary Leif, R-Roseburg, or choose the Democrats running against them, Shannon Souza for the Senate and Megan Salter for the House.

In North County, incumbent Rep. Cedric Hayden, R-Fall Creek, and Cottage Grove Democrat Christy Inskip will square off for House District 7, which also includes South Lane County. North County residents have a three-way race for state senator to consider. Incumbent Sen. Floyd Prozanski, D-Eugene, will face Yoncalla Libertarian Frank Lengele, Jr. and Vida Republican Scott Rohter.

County residents will also decide whether to vote for longtime U.S. Rep. Peter DeFazio, D-Springfield, or his challenger, Republican Art Robinson of Cave Junction. Robinson is making his fifth attempt to unseat DeFazio.

Voters will also be asked to approve or reject a countywide Second Amendment Preservation Ordinance. They’ll also vote on statewide measures that aim to ban grocery taxes, ban publicly funded abortions, end Oregon’s sanctuary state law, allow public-private partnerships for low-income housing development, and mandate supermajority legislative approval of changes to tax deductions, exemptions and credits that increase revenue to the state.

Reporter Carisa Cegavske can be reached at 541-957-4213 or ccegavske@nrtoday.com.

React to this story:


Senior Reporter

Carisa Cegavske is the senior reporter for The News-Review. She can be reached at ccegavske@nrtoday.com or 541-957-4213. Follow her on Twitter @carisa_cegavske

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.