211010-spt-nmroseburgfb-06 (copy)

Roseburg High School senior quarterback Colton Marsters, shown running against North Medford earlier this season, was selected the Southwest Conference Offensive Player of the Year.

Roseburg was honored with 12 selections on the Southwest Conference football all-league first teams and also came away with the top individual awards in voting by the coaches.

Senior quarterback Colton Marsters was selected the Offensive Player of the Year, junior lineman Tiger Black was named the Defensive Player of the Year and Dave Heuberger was Coach of the Year.

The Indians went 8-1 during the regular season, finishing second behind Sheldon in the SWC standings.

Roseburg’s first-team selections on offense included Marsters at quarterback, junior center James Coleman, Black at guard, senior tackles Haydon Snyder and Silas Kincaid, sophomore running back Cayden Eckel and senior wide receiver Logan Klopfenstein.

Marsters, in his first year as a quarterback, rushed for 1,204 yards and 17 touchdowns and passed for 1,025 yards and 11 TDs during the regular season. Eckel ran for 999 yards and 13 TDs.

Klopfenstein was the top receiver with 25 catches for 332 yards and four TDs.

Making the first-team defense were Black on the line, senior Dawson Gillespie and Klopfenstein at linebackers, and senior Landyn Dupper and Marsters at defensive backs.

Roseburg travels to Bend Friday to meet Summit in the second round of the Class 6A playoffs.



Offensive Player of the Year — Colton Marsters, sr., Roseburg.

Defensive Player of the Year — Tiger Black, jr., Roseburg.

Coach of the Year — Dave Heuberger, Roseburg.


First Team

CENTER — James Coleman, jr., Roseburg.

GUARDS — Tiger Black, jr., Roseburg; David Fuiava, jr., North Medford.

TACKLES — John Gelsomino, sr., Sheldon; Terrel Kim, soph., North Medford; Haydon Snyder, sr., Roseburg; Silas Kincaid, sr., Roseburg.

TIGHT END — Luke Leighton, jr., Sheldon.

RUNNING BACKS — Cayden Eckel, soph., Roseburg; Ty Pugliano, jr., North Medford; Grafton Robinson, jr., Sheldon.

WIDE RECEIVERS — Bryce Dyer, sr., North Medford; Logan Klopfenstein, sr., Roseburg; Andrew Walker, jr., South Medford.

QUARTERBACK — Colton Marsters, sr., Roseburg.

KICKER — Sam Poole, sr., Sheldon.

Second Team

CENTER — Adam Burkett, sr., North Medford.

GUARDS — Ryan Yakovich, jr., Sheldon; Daniel Thomas, jr., Roseburg.

TACKLES — Tanner Thomas, jr., Sheldon; Brogan Hancock, sr., South Medford.

TIGHT END — AJ Pugliano, soph., North Medford.

RUNNING BACKS — Carson Joe, sr., South Medford; Trevor Reeves, jr., Grants Pass.

WIDE RECEIVERS — Zack McEwen, jr., Sheldon; Isaac Peters, jr., Sheldon; Jackson Tunick, jr., Grants Pass.

QUARTERBACK — Brock Thomas, jr., Sheldon.

KICKER — Brandon Dominguez, sr., North Medford.

Honorable Mention

CENTERS — Carl Harward, jr., Sheldon; Bowen Johnson, soph., South Medford.

GUARDS — Jacob Johnson, sr., North Medford; Aiden Fuller, sr., Sheldon; Li Moala, soph., South Medford.

TACKLE — Connor Trinca, soph., North Medford.

RECEIVERS — Keegen Line, sr., Sheldon; Alexander Angulo, jr., North Medford; Landyn Dupper, sr., Roseburg; Colton Samis, sr., South Medford.

RUNNING BACK — Brycen Guches, sr., South Medford.

QUARTERBACKS — Mason Warren, sr., North Medford; Deacon Edgar, jr., South Medford.


First Team

LINEMEN — Josh Merriman, jr., Sheldon; O’Shea Miller, sr., North Medford; Brandon Dominguez, sr., North Medford; Tiger Black, jr., Roseburg; Jackson Robertson, sr., South Medford.

LINEBACKERS — Luke Leighton, jr., Sheldon; Dawson Gillespie, sr., Roseburg; Logan Klopfenstein, sr., Roseburg; Carson Joe, sr., South Medford; Braeden Lesina, sr., Grants Pass.

BACKS — Keegen Line, sr., Sheldon; Landyn Dupper, sr., Roseburg; Colton Marsters, sr., Roseburg; Andrew Walker, jr., South Medford.

PUNTER — Colton Samis, sr., South Medford.

Second Team

LINEMEN — Tilman Ritchie-Tuisue, sr., Sheldon; Eric Santacruz, sr., North Medford; Silas Kincaid, sr., Roseburg; Haydon Snyder, sr., Roseburg; Parker Jarvis, jr., Grants Pass.

LINEBACKERS — Karson Mazziotti, sr., Sheldon; David Manstrom, jr., Sheldon; Braden Steinacher, sr., Roseburg.

BACKS — Isaac Peters, jr., Sheldon; Koda Passey, sr., North Medford; Bryce Dyer, sr., North Medford; Ty Pugliano, jr., North Medford.

PUNTERS — Sam Poole, sr., Sheldon; Mason Warren, sr., North Medford; Miles Anderson, sr., Grants Pass.

Honorable Mention

BACKS — Carson Dunn, sr., Roseburg; Jayce Jordan, sr., Grants Pass.

LINEBACKERS — AJ Pugliano, soph., North Medford; Kilohana Wailehug, jr., North Medford; Dylan Espinosa, jr., South Medford; Asher Johnson, sr., South Medford.

Tom Eggers can be reached at teggers@nrtoday.com or 541-957-4220.

React to this story:


Sports Editor

Tom Eggers is the sports editor for The News-Review. He can be reached at teggers@nrtoday.com or 541-957-4220.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.